RSS

The Joy of Painting Bob Ross

28 Jan

I watch my website stats pretty closely, and it occurs to me that my most popular post is a Mother’s Day post from a couple of years ago in which I posted a typical picture of Bob Ross sitting at his canvas.  This picture brings in about 80% of all the traffic to this blog.  Bob is apparently a quite popular fellow.  So in the interest of shamelessly fishing for more blog traffic, I’ve decided to have some fun with Bob and offer some variations on a theme.  I hope you enjoy.

Bob Ross

The Original Bob Ross

Bob Ross cartoon

Cartoon Bob Ross

Bob Ross painting by the numbers

So that was the true secret of Bob Ross's success!

Bald Bob Ross

Who loves ya, baby?! Bob Ross, that's who!

Bob Ross painting Pocahontas

Little known fact: Bob Ross had a thing for historical Native American figures.

Bob Ross with an even bigger afro.

I'll never forget the time that Bob Ross shampooed with Rogaine.

Bob Ross with a "trendy" haircut

Then there was the time Bob Ross listened to network exec suggestions.

Bob Ross with birthday cake

I'll never forget the time Bob Ross wished me a happy birthday.

Bob Ross with growing afro

This is how I imagine Bob Ross looks to stoners.

Bob Ross "Rick Roll"

What's a nonsense post about Bob Ross without a little "Rickroll" thrown in?

I hope you have enjoyed this Bob Ross tribute as much as I enjoyed making it.  Please, feel free to leave a comment and share your favorite Bob Ross memory.  I’d love to hear what Bob Ross meant to you.

 
10 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2010 in humour, internet, tongueincheek

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

10 responses to “The Joy of Painting Bob Ross

  1. E.R.

    January 28, 2010 at 11:40 am

    Your missing one… where is the demonic/psycho one with the eyes that follow your cursor and threaten to make happy trees or some such things.

     
    • gentlemanbeggar

      January 28, 2010 at 12:41 pm

      Yeah, there were some technical difficulties with that. It would be cool if I could find a way to embed it on here.

       
  2. Doug

    January 30, 2010 at 8:11 am

    My, you’ve been busy… Go Happy Trees!!!

     
  3. mom

    January 30, 2010 at 7:58 pm

    you can laugh and make fun sweetie, but i used to enjoy watching Bob i even learned a thing or two…he was better than the german guy who used to yell,”Fire it in dere.” when he painted something. Remember him?!”

     
    • gentlemanbeggar

      January 31, 2010 at 11:26 am

      I do remember that guy! You’re right, Bob was infinitely more tolerable. I’m just amazed by this hidden fascination that the internet seems to have with the fro’d one. You should check out some of the Bob Ross parodies on youtube. Some of them are pretty funny.

       
  4. anne marie in philly

    March 26, 2010 at 7:18 am

    happy little trees!

     
  5. Bob Ross

    October 19, 2010 at 6:13 pm

    lol funny hairdos. i miss bob!!!

     
  6. lenhend

    February 10, 2011 at 2:33 am

    I first viewed a Bob Ross video in about 1990. It was an old video. He was teaching how to paint using my techniques which I developed after many years speedpainting in shopping centers around Australia. I put 6 lessons on a 2 hour video in 1979. The videos were dispersed world-wide. The lessons showed my techniques, how to paint clouds, trees, rocks, water, reflections, grass, waterfalls, sunsets and more. They were the exact same techniques Bob Ross used with some of the word for word the same as my script. Many painters have learnt from my tutorial painting videos, not only Bob Ross

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

