RSS

A note on shaving obsessions and bad habits.

06 Dec

You would not believe the looks I get from people when I tell them that shaving is my hobby. My wife says it’s my newest obsession. Tomato, tomato. Anyway, I realize that like any fanboy, I can ramble on incoherently about badger hair brushes, and double edge razors. I’ve got my opinions on what your best options are for a good close shave, and I’m not afraid to share them. What amazes me though, is that whenever I see an opportunity to regale others with the wisdom I have so recently obtained about de-fuzzing techniques, I fall into the same bad habits that I detest in others.

Living in North-East Texas, I daily encounter those with a penchant for sports. Now, I enjoy the occasional boxing match, minor league game, maybe a round or two of golf, but I could care less about football.
I might as well turn in my “Man” card by admitting that. Really though, football holds nothing for me. I just don’t “get it” and I don’t want to. Whenever I run into an acquaintance who loves the *insert team name here* all they want to talk about is their team’s chances of making it to the *insert championship title* finals. They’ll tell me all about what teams have to score what and which players are sidelined, and all I can do is nod my head and act like I give a flying rat’s patootie. Frankly, the whole thing leaves me feeling a little guilty, like I’ve overlooked some great aspect of living and now, somehow, because I don’t care about this subject, I’m denying my friend the joy that is unhindered discourse on a subject very near and dear to their heart.

Likewise, I can almost feel their thoughts as I launch into a tirade about how the razor industry is fleecing so many sheep with their 26 blade cartridge razors with vibrating handles and heated lotion strips. I recognize that same, “Uh huh, fascinating, you’re a nut” look that I find myself trying to mask from them when they bore me senseless. I’m not sure what to do about it. I don’t seem to be able to turn it off, but I know it’s a bad habit. So if you see me, and I start to bore you, just smile, and nod politely, and remember, I’ll do the same when you excitedly share what you’re doing to your big-block Chevrolet with the dual carbs and open headers.

Go Team!

p.s. Some of you may know that I’m working on a fiction story (or 12). I’m thinking about maybe posting some segments on here. What do you think? Anyone interested in reading about the real-time adventures of a guy with insomnia?

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
