RSS

Anticipation

10 May

My question is, what’s so wrong with Cipation that Anticipation would even need to exist? And how exactly does one cipate?

We ordered a 100 pack of Derby Extra razor blades yesterday and I can’t wait until they come in. This blade ranks right up there next to Wilkinson Sword blades. After trying one on a friend’s recommendation, I found that it is an excellent “budget” blade. While not quite as smooth and resilient as a Wilk, the blade provided a very pleasurable shave, slicing a two day old growth with ease. After using it for a week, it was still holding it’s own, performing much better than the cheap American Personnas that one finds at Walmart for $1.68. Don’t get me wrong, the Personna is an excellent standby blade, but when I want a little luxury, I reach for the Wilkinsons. Now, I can have close to that same luxury every day! At $17 for 100 blades, the Derbys are only .17 apiece, only 1/5 of a cent more than the Walmart blades. Even with TWGW using the blades too, we should be set for awhile on shaving bliss.

Speaking of anticipation, I got some moulds in the mail this week (Thanks Mamma Bear) and I just used them last night to make a couple of pucks of shaving soap. I’m probably going to start selling my soaps soon! Look out for Uncle Albert’s Amazing Solid Cream Shaving Cakes in a B&B post near you! I worked out another scent last night to add to my short list of fragrant soaps that I can make. This one smells strongly of licorice, and I’m still trying to find a creative name for it. The names of my other soaps are Atreides (Smells kind of like Old Spice) and Captain’s Galley (Orange and clove). Any suggestions on the new scent?

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Anticipation

  1. LeisureGuy

    May 13, 2008 at 1:09 am

    Just curious: have you ever tried Treet Blue Special blades (carbon steel)? They certainly don’t work for everyone, but they’re the best blade for me—well, along with a few others… πŸ™‚

     
  2. gentlemanbeggar

    May 13, 2008 at 3:03 pm

    I’ve actually tried a limited variety of blades thus far. I’ve pretty much been limited to what’s available locally (Which isn’t much). Of course, now that I’ve got a 100 blades coming, I won’t be able to justify buying others to try for a very long time as I’m a blade-a-week kind of guy.

     
  3. Momma

    June 13, 2008 at 3:02 pm

    So glad you and Mel finally found good music…..
    I’ll be Looking for the unusual up here for ya…see what I can find….

     

Leave a Reply

 
