RSS

Choosing the Right Wine with Dinner.

19 Jun

It’s all in the blade! Several weeks ago, I acquired a Schick Krona from a friend. I couldn’t wait to drop a blade in it and feel that thing glide across my jaw. I took it home and gave it the requisite cleaning and loaded it up with a blade from the limited stock I had on hand, a Wal-mart personna. Now, I know this blade is much maligned, but it is usually a very servicable blade, often finding a home in one of my gillette shavers.

So, for a week, I struggled with this razor. I simply couldn’t get a great shave. In fact, I labored to get a decent shave, finding the razor to be rough, too light, and just otherwise sub-par. It wasn’t that it was an awful shave, it was just “not quite good enough.” It was somewhat dissapointing to say the least.

Bare with me, I’m getting to the point. Really, I am.

I recently purchased a box of Derby blades, a definite upgrade from the walmart blades. This week I decided to give the Schick another chance, so I loaded up a Derby in it and touched razor to face again, fearful of having a mediocre shave, and semi-ruining an otherwise decent day.

Wow, it shaved almost on par with my Gillettes. It wasn’t quite as smooth as I’m used to with my other razors but it was a definitely an acceptable shave. I would say that with this blade the razor becomes a completely different shaver. The difference was very surprising. It just goes to show that sometimes we can forget how important it is to combine the right blade with the right razor. It’s like pairing the right wine with the right meal, the wrong combo, while not totally ruining a dinner, can certainly keep it from reaching full potential.

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Choosing the Right Wine with Dinner.

  1. sol92258

    June 19, 2008 at 1:09 pm

    sorry, can’t “bare” with you right now, I’m at work, unlike SOMEONE I know…. 🙂

    yeah, I was going to suggest trying a Derby in your Krona (bet that sounds weird to those not in the know – next time I see you in WM I’m gonna say that out loud….)

     
  2. gentlemanbeggar

    June 20, 2008 at 11:44 am

    2 words:

    Jealous.

    🙂

     
  3. Magik Quilter

    July 14, 2008 at 7:24 pm

    And here I thought this was about dinner!

     
  4. gentlemanbeggar

    July 14, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    I can be sneaky that way sometimes.

     

Leave a Reply

 
