RSS

If I had a hammer…

10 Jul

About 2 weeks ago I placed an order on e-bay for an Alphasmart 2000. When I ordered it, I selected 2-3 day shipping. What I failed to notice was the little line that said “Item will ship within 5 business days of order.” Naturally, it was after the mail ran on the 5th day that I received a shipping confirmation notice, saying that it had been submitted for pickup. The next day, it had not yet been picked up by the post office. The next day was the 4th of July. No Saturday pickup where it’s shipping from, so it didn’t get picked up by the USPS until sometime late in the day Monday. Tuesday, no package, no change on the USPS tracking site. Wednesday, nothing. Today, still nothing. Arrrgh! It’s so frustrating. In typical fashion, each step of the process of sending this thing a couple hundred miles is taking it’s maximum limit of time to be completed. Every link in the chain is contributing to the tardiness of my package. I ordered this thing so I could do some distraction free writing while I’m off work. I’m afraid by the time I get it, I’ll be back at work and not have the time to really enjoy it. Oh well, patience is a virtue, I suppose. Who couldn’t stand to be a little more virtuous? The thing that really frustrates me though, is that I had to order a cable for the keyboard from a different vendor. I had it within 3 days of placing the order. So for the last two weeks I’ve been looking at that cable and waiting anxiously for something to plug it into. You know what they say, when all you have is a hammer…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 10, 2008 in gadgets, writing

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
