RSS

A Case for the Alphasmart 2000

14 Jul

Have I mentioned that I’m really enjoying my Alphasmart?  I’ve already managed to finish my fanfic chapter 3, and start my chapter 4.  This blog entry makes my second entry composed entirely on the little portable keyboard.  The one I ordered came with a “case” which actually turned out to be a zippered 3-ring binder case.  It’s actually a fairly elegant solution.  I had to take a little rubbing alcohol and a toothbrush to the case to remove the white-out “S” that had been painted on the spine.  I was fairly pleased with the results, but the binder-cover is khaki with an olive stripe, and I want something a little more–I don’t know– just different. I started sifting through my fabric scraps (Yeah, I have fabric scraps, what’s it to ya?) and found a large piece of black vinyl.  I broke out the scissors, a needle, some thread, and a little impatience.  Half an hour later, and I had a 90% complete custom fitted pouch for my un-notebook.  All that’s left to do is figure out a closure for the flap.  I’m thinking about using two buttons and a small elastic loop, but I’m not sure.  The way I made this slip case, the front of the liner has the slick side of the vinyl facing the keypad area of the keyboard, but it just has the fuzzy vinyl backing on the underside of the flap and in the back of the case.  I’m trying to decide if I need to line the entire case or not.  Here’s what I have so far.  What do you think?

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “A Case for the Alphasmart 2000

  1. Magik Quilter

    July 14, 2008 at 7:20 pm

    Hhmm if I am honest I have to say I prefer the ring binder…mainly cause I feel the black vinyl is too plain…it needs a bit of bling! Now I know you are a guy but it could still have some kind of embellishing…am thinking contrasting stitches in nice strong thread down the sides. Although now we come to the crux of my constructive criticism, well you did ask, and it is that if you are going to all this trouble why not go the whole hog and get a nice piece of leather?

    Now I realise that is an oxymoron to vegans and the like so if you are one….apologies….did not see an about page where you said anything about that sort of thing. If you are doing the “use only what you have” thing as well apologies again….but as you are starting this from scratch why not do a super stunning contrasting stitched one in leather or suede? You might start a sideline business while you are at it!! I do have some leather scraps you are welcome to but they are only samples and about 15cm by 20cm so they may not be suitable as they would have to be patchwork. You could get a bag from a second hand shop or an old leather jacket and cut that up…will shut up now as this is your blog and you will ban or block me if I keep this up….show us the finished product? I won’t go on and on …honest.

     
  2. gentlemanbeggar

    July 14, 2008 at 11:39 pm

    Actually, I thought about using leather. I do happen to have a few large scraps but they’re a little thin in places, and I didn’t want to waste them, in case this didn’t work. I actually kind of like the plain design. I thought about using a couple of nice marbelized buttons to latch it shut. Thanks for the constructive criticism, it’s always interesting to get creative input.

     
  3. LDS-HOMESCHOOL-MOM

    March 27, 2016 at 9:54 am

    Wow. You made your own case. That is too much work for me. I do not have time. I think the three ring binder cover may work for me. I will check out some three ring binders. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
