RSS

Excite e-mail hasn’t stopped sucking.

09 Oct

Well, I gave them time to sort it out.

Really, I did.

My first issue with the “new and improved” excite e-mail started the weekend of July 4th.

I gave them time to sort things out, time to realize the error of their ways, and time to at least offer some consideration for the wants/needs of their long-time users.  I’ve been with excite for probably a decade or more, and I’ve always been a vociferous proponent of their services.  I weathered the @home debacle with them a few years back, and I held on to my guns, always recommending them to people who were in need of a quality web-based e-mail service.

No more.

I cannot, in good conscience, suggest that anyone even consider riding alone in an elevator with excite e-mail.  Their incomprehensible desire to “fix” a service that wasn’t broken has led them to create what is quite likely the world’s largest web 2.0 disaster.  The new user interface is needlessly cluttered, inexcuseably complicated, and horribly inconsiderate to those with low-bandwidth connections.  They haven’t made any decent steps in making the site accessible in a cross-browser environment, if you aren’t using Internet Exploder, you can’t expect full compatibility, so that means you Linux guys are pretty well out of luck.

The team at bluetie.com (the new managers of excite mail) have all but completely isolated themselves from customer feedback.  They simply refuse to respond to accusations that they’ve dropped a giant bowel movement on a large segment of the excite customer base.  The only feedback outlet that anyone has been able to find even effectively says “don’t expect to hear back from us.”

I ask you, dear reader, in what world is this considered customer service?  I get better service than this from the snot-nosed mumbling punk at my local McHeartattack–and he invariably reads “No Onions” as “Pile it Up with Extra Onions.”

I’m fed up with it.  I refuse to put up with mediocre service, and I will begin rectifying any positive word-of-mouth I have given them over the years by a factor of 10.

Excite.com, you have been put on notice.  Bluetie is wrecking your image, and you are losing customers in droves.  Not only that, but they are doing their best to prevent you from ever getting new users.  Hear our voices.  Respond to our pleas.  We are legion.  We are now reachable @yahoo.com.

 
44 Comments

Posted by on October 9, 2008 in better living, internet, quality

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

44 responses to “Excite e-mail hasn’t stopped sucking.

  1. sol92258

    October 9, 2008 at 6:35 pm

    wow…you’re right, can’t say you haven’t given them a chance

     
  2. Master

    October 13, 2008 at 10:16 am

    Excite has truely let us down, and the fact that there is no one in a customer service capasity to deal with our concerns is a disaster in the making.

     
  3. Robert Buda

    November 3, 2008 at 12:03 pm

    I …..myself too gave them enough time for the change….and now I am changing….sad day …..been on excite page for ten plus years…..can’t even get the email to come up….forget about checking the mail….what the hell …..who gave ths stupid move without testing it first….why didn’t they give us a choice to use the old to the new….that way if a trouble popped up….well you know where this is going.
    Hope you all can read this….piss off user.

     
  4. Moving from Excite

    November 4, 2008 at 11:48 pm

    After searching what the general public was thinking of Excite new upgrades I stumble across this page… It’s not looking good for Excite. People if you’re sick of all the faults, reliability and crud that Excite is giving you, (you must be because you’re reading this) then move. While you have a chance set up your email to auto reply to give out your new ‘Yahoo’ email address. Yahoo works ! pure and simple.

    Excite wont listen to your complainants!
    Move People! I’m telling you!

    Yes very sad, I too have been with Excite for 10 years. Time for a fresh change I think 🙂

    t.i.e.

     
  5. Mike

    November 13, 2008 at 12:42 pm

    Yes, it is a big suck job. It works in one browser, but not another, same system. I can not navigate the email well anymore, no next tab, you have a stupid pull down window for 10-20, 20-30, etc… this is a real POS (Piece of S___). I even tried to upgrade tot heir gold service so I could at least use POP, but they are not upgrading anyone while they are migrating to bluetie.

    Move onto yahoo.com; still has nice interface.

     
  6. Tater Malone

    December 5, 2008 at 6:31 pm

    EXCITE EMAIL IS A LOT LIKE SLAMMING YOUR PACKAGE IN YOUR CAR DOOR…IT FEELS SOOOOOOOOO GOOD WHEN YOU QUIT!
    I AM BEGINNING TO SUSPECT THAT EXCITE IS NOW OWNED AND OPERATED BY THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT.THE DECLINE IN COMPETENCE AND USEFULNESS ARE STRANGELY PARALLEL.IT’S BEEN PROPOSED BY SOME THAT EXCITE IS TRYING TO DUMP A SIGNIFICANT PORTION OF THEIR EXISTING CLIENT BASE AND REPLACE IT WITH NEW CUSTOMERS.HATE TO BREAK IT TO YOU EXCITE,BUT THE “NEW AND IMPROVED” EMAIL WILL BE JUST AS WORTHLESS TO NEW CLIENTS AS IT IS TO US.GOOD LUCK ASSCLOWNS…

     
  7. lilkunta

    January 4, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    I agree with you all. I tries but it sucks!
    As of 2k9 Im on hotmail.

     
  8. liz

    February 4, 2009 at 4:05 am

    I have been w/exite 4 over 10yrs & I am soooo mad about this bluetie BS! I H8 the new 4mat I use safari & firefox but I have 2 use IE 2 get my mail & that only quasi works w/the new 4mat! I have been patiently waiting 4 them 2 fix things or @ least offer the gold srvc (pop3) but 2day I give up!! I sold my soul 2 microsoft 2day!

     
  9. ronaldsmolinski

    February 21, 2009 at 9:58 am

    To Excite/com Weve lost our address book, with the Email Address Ronaldsmolinski

     
    • Ron Sims

      April 28, 2009 at 10:23 pm

      Just a question…Ever been on the Saratoga? VA75?

       
      • Boe

        December 24, 2009 at 9:50 am

        Ron Sims, VA-75 Noah? …ring a bell?

         
  10. Mike

    April 25, 2009 at 2:53 am

    I’ve also been with Excite for 10 years and they really dropped the ball on this one. I get the Excite login page then it takes me to Bluetie. I try to login and it says invalid username/password. I tried to go into the link Forgot your support id, entered my email and it says the username you have entered does not exist. I have logged into Excite in the past month so I don’t understand why my account is gone. I guess I’ll lose all of my emails from the past 10 years and all of the contacts I’ve built up over that time. Excite Sucks!!!!!

     
  11. Keith Anderson

    June 30, 2009 at 8:58 am

    Switching ALL to Yahoo TODAY!

     
  12. Tom

    June 30, 2009 at 9:09 am

    Yeah, I’ve had enough. I’m switching my email account also. I’ve been with excite since 1996. How could they just leave all of us hanging like this. utterly unprofessional

     
  13. Doug

    June 30, 2009 at 10:34 pm

    It is June 30, 2009 and the Excite email experience continues to be distressing. I feel like a junkie scrounging for a fix when I go back to it; will I ever be satisfied like I once was? Why not just cut the ties and run?
    It would be so much easier if there was some sort of export feature, to archive the years of emails I’ve saved. Perhaps I should just consider them gone; as if hit by a fire and destroyed. Would be much easier.

    Can’t access email today, and there is no explanation on the site. It doesn’t much matter, anyway. I just have a few old site subscriptions.

    Sad.

     
  14. jenny

    July 1, 2009 at 11:57 am

    What is going on, does anyone know? I can’t get to my email for the past few days and when I can get to the inbox, I can’t open the mail. This is so frustrating!!!!

     
    • josh

      July 1, 2009 at 12:50 pm

      Ditto above… WTF????

      Just hope that nothing of value is sitting in my inbox. This should be enough to push any remaining users to other providers…

       
  15. charles

    July 1, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    I cannot log in to my excite mail since June 29. Although I have been hating the excite mail, I still need to access to check new/old mails. I have been an excite mail user since 1999!! Imagine all the info/data I may lose!!!!

     
    • Sam

      July 1, 2009 at 2:59 pm

      I don’t anything else to add really, but wanted to add my voice to your in the hope that there are no new people joining and more who are leaving so maybe they will get the message. Go Yahoo, gmail and even hotmail…..!!!

       
  16. Jester

    July 2, 2009 at 9:40 am

    I fixed mine!!! One of two things might be wrong, both are in the cookies section of your browser believe it or not:
    Go to the cookies section, look for the “exceptions” button or list… first possible problem, excite might be listed as “blocked” if so, delete the block. Problem goes away. second possible problem, excite isn’t listed at all… if so, type it in and mark it as “allow”… problem goes away.
    Next, hurry up and get all your email out of there, after ten years I just don’t trust them anymore. Don’t know an easy way to forward 10,000 messages though! :-(( I think their cookie might have been downgraded to spammer/spyware status by the global lists that keep track of that stuff and that’s what might be causing these problems.

     
  17. Jester

    July 2, 2009 at 9:42 am

    Oh, and when I say add excite to the exceptions list, i mean add excite.com or *.excite.com or whatever your browser requires.

     
  18. merela

    August 11, 2009 at 8:48 pm

    …and it continues to suck! I had all my children’s school correspondence on Excite mail last fall and Excite failed to deliver, so I switched the majority of my correspondence over to gmail. Unfortunately, I didn’t completely switched over and left some acquaintance emails on Excite. Now, I’m regretting it. I don’t like Excite’s split screen format and it takes forever to load. Today, I can’t even access it. As soon as it is functional again, I will be switching everything to gmail.

    Too bad…for Excite.

     
  19. dmg

    August 12, 2009 at 2:28 pm

    Excite.com eMail is proving to be the most reliable eMail account out of several that I have.

    Here’s some dates when access to eMail has been unavailable – sometimes for 2 or 3 days:-
    10 September 2008
    27 December 2008
    20 January 2009
    23 April 2009
    10 August 2009 (and still unavailable 12 August 2009 as I write this)

    Even when it works (sort of) it’s too slow and unreliable. Messages clicked on often don’t open. Some eMail messages open and I find the text has been lost.

    Good job I’ve moved most of my contacts onto alternative better, more reliable, higher capacity accounts with hotmail, googlemail and yahoo mail.

    One other thing, excite.com is the most spammed of any eMail account I have.

    I wonder when excite.com will do everyone a favour by just closing down permanently.

     
  20. Esteban

    August 12, 2009 at 3:49 pm

    Amen. My e-mail service has been down for more than a day, while I’m waiting on an important correspondence involving a potential job interview!

    I will be switching to gmail after 10 years on excite. So long, crappy e-mail serice.

     
  21. dmg

    August 16, 2009 at 7:15 am

    On 13 August 2009 excite.com eMail became accessible again.

    As slow as ever, plus today (16 August 2009) I get the error message

    “Unable to download script resource ./btCore.js”

    This is a regular common occurrence and is another way access to excite.com eMails is prevented.

    Looks like its down to excite.com using something from BlueTie.com – people who have eMail with MyWay.com also suffer this caused by BlueTie.com that is also used by MyWay.com.

    Just need to ensure all those who still have my excite.com eMail address are informed of my new alternative eMail addresses now,

    then I’ll be able to say “good bye” to this BlueTie.com and excite.com.rubbish once and for all.

     
  22. nobody

    September 15, 2009 at 5:17 am

    for a few weeks now I still can’t access my excite email. anybody know why?

     
  23. Daniel

    October 11, 2009 at 2:18 am

    I too have been with excite for 10 years and I can’t believe the level of shite that they deliver. Regardless of all the previous problems I have weathered it is mid October and I can’t even logon to my email account now. I could previously but it was slow and cumbersome. I also use to recommend excite but not since they changed to bluetie.

     
  24. Daniel

    October 13, 2009 at 10:06 pm

    For 2 weeks now when I try and logon to excite email I get transfered to bluetie login. Here’s what really pisses me off. I tried email UK and it works fine for their accounts (but not excite.com accounts of course.)

    http://user.excite.co.uk/

     
  25. dmg

    October 17, 2009 at 9:10 am

    My two excite.com eMail accounts are sort-of working this past month or so.

    The problems are currently:-

    1. As, ever since “upgrade” / revamp – ridiculously slow to open messages and in some cases messages do NOT open at all.

    2. Some messages, thanks to .excite.com &/or bluetie arrive lacking text – only sender and message title are readable. I KNOW AS A CERTAIN FACT THAT IT IS AN EXCITE.COM SPECIFIC PROBLEM since similar messages sent to other eMail accounts (googlemail.com, hotmail.co.uk, aol.co.uk) DO arrive intact with the text of the message readable, and it’s not just one sender’s messages that get the text deleted by Excite.com but several (and not consistent at that).

    So, excite.com as an eMail service, is a facility of last resort and MUST be covered by having duplicate eMail accounts with other eMail providors until such time that excite.com sort out their technical problems.

     
  26. a

    November 6, 2009 at 2:10 am

    Supposedly excite.com is updating their site, I don’t recall seeing any information about deleting old accounts, I check my e-mail as often as possible and know for a fact that is has not been 90 days since i’ve checked my e-mail.My account worked yesterday and just as i try to check my e-mail today and I see a policy telling me they reserve the right to delete accounts that have been inactive for 90 days.

     
  27. mkg

    November 6, 2009 at 3:09 am

    yeah, I’m getting the same thing tonight.

     
  28. MrEs

    January 1, 2010 at 1:32 am

    ditto 😦

     
  29. dmg

    January 10, 2010 at 10:30 am

    One of my Excite.com eMail accounts proved to be REAL TRASH earlier this week.

    I subscribe to a number of news / special buying offers from retailers.
    Received 5 such eMails on 4 January – no problem, EXCEPT that
    Excite.com deleted the contents of three of the eMails (from 3 different senders = proof that it’s Excite.com at fault rather than the senders) and then Excite.com added it’s own rubbishy advertising links (to all 5 eMails).

    Further proof, if proof were needed, that excite.com is interfering with incoming eMails as in deleting contents and adding it’s own advertising fee sponsored links + don’t forget a totally unreliable webmail service. Only keep it open as a last resort.

     
  30. A2Vman

    February 3, 2010 at 10:12 am

    Excite…Aha…does anyone know how to save or email old emails in my excite folders to either my computer or to msn live ?

     
  31. Andrew

    February 24, 2010 at 1:19 pm

    I’ve had an Excite.com account for a few years & just noticed that they have lost/deleted at least 6 monthes of my old E-Mails. Everything from ’07 & Jan/Feb ’08 is gone. I have never gone over their storage limits & have never let my account lapse. Is there any way to get my missing E-Mails back? No response from Excite & I quess they don’t answer user questions.

     
  32. Andrew

    February 25, 2010 at 2:30 am

    I got a response from Excite today. Kinda funny though, telling me that the E-Mails are in blocks of 20 messages & how to scroll down to view them. Like I didn’t know that. I let them know the issue is not me, but that the messages are gone. Let’s see how they respond to that. At least they seem to be trying now.

     
  33. Andrew

    February 25, 2010 at 12:09 pm

    Here’s Excite’s latest response:
    “We have regenerated your account which would have brought back any messages from account that were still in our system. If the messages are not within your account at this time, then we are unable to retrieve them.
    We regret any inconvenience this has caused.”
    Nothing has changed, so I guess I’m screwed on that. Has this happened to anyone else? Kinda funny though, as I know that the US 9-11 Citizen Spying laws require that the hosts like Excite save everything forever so the Feds can look at them any time they want to.

     
  34. dmg

    March 10, 2010 at 2:08 am

    excite.com are continuing to manage to remove some / all of the text contents of many eMails whilst at the same time adding advertising.

    Starting a process of telling all senders to send eMail to other *reliable* eMail accounts eg. googlemail, aol, hotmail, yahoo.

     
  35. Netmonger

    March 30, 2010 at 1:46 pm

    There are always going to be some issues with a large scale migration such as the excite to bluetie. Ive used the new system, and while they’ve had some problems here and there, the new client does have some nice new features to it and stability seems to have greatly improved since this story was first posted. Are you guys still seeing problems with excite email or have you all switched?

     
  36. dmg

    April 3, 2010 at 2:48 am

    The excite.com eMail client is a pile of garbage – yes it still is – no sorting out of problems done.

    I still get messages where excite.com &/or blue tie have deleted the text of the message and added advertising links. Same messages sent to other eMail clients arrive intact.

    The screen freezes from time to time when trying to organise messages.

    Accessing messages is a nightmare too – extremely slow.

    The preview pane is a pain – far too small to be as useful as it should be (too much screen space occupied by advertising).

    All in all “excite.com = garbage = trash”.

    I’m so glad that I have other eMail clients as in googlemail.com, hotmail.co.uk, yahoo.com etc.

    NEVER TRUST A SINGLE PROVIDOR – ALWAYS MULTI-SOURCE.

     
  37. RJC

    June 23, 2010 at 5:12 pm

    What the heck is .btCore.js required resource could not be loaded?

     
  38. lilkunta

    July 18, 2010 at 8:48 pm

    hello. 1 yr later & excite still sucks.
    why hasnt some media blogged picked up on this?
    if there is media outcry maybe bluetie chief will listen.
    i have moved to hotmail
    (im still weary of gmail reading my emails 2 put ads & selling my emails, plus i heard gmail uses ajax) but 2 chk excite 1 x a month.

    & that 1 time a month feels like i am having a toothe extracted.

    i miss the old excite.com

     
  39. Jim Wisely

    August 20, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    You people are all being unfair. Excite e-mail does not suck. ALL of Excite sucks. This mail service is the worst on the Internet.

     

Leave a Reply

 
