RSS

The Adventures of Dandy Dog!

16 Oct

It all started when user Crabmeat posted a picture on reddit.com :

In his kindness, he also offered a link to the original with a request to see what we, the reddit community could do with it:

User Bezzer made some much needed improvements, adding a touch of realism and old-world classiness to the photo:

But the users still felt something just wasn’t quite right… It needed to be sepia, it needed some touch-up work around the paws, the background wasn’t quite right, and that wine really needs to be sloshing as the dog is, after all, jumping.  Thus:

Behold! Dandy Dog!

Meanwhile, at the http://www.theshaveden.com, my friend Jim suggested some subtle changes:

Aaaarr, ye' scurvy dog!

Doesn’t that dog have panache?

He certainly does.

Then, after looking more closely at the original image, I noticed a striking resemblance to a certain Jedi master…

Here he is conducting the Boston Pops:

Woodwinds, pick up the pace, or I'm coming over there!

He had a short run in the movie industry:

You talkin' to me?

Then there was that time he took a walk on the dark side:

That is indeed, one Dandy Dog!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on October 16, 2009 in humour, internet, pirates, tongueincheek

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

12 responses to “The Adventures of Dandy Dog!

  1. Jim

    October 18, 2009 at 3:00 pm

    Bravo, sir!

     
  2. Doug

    November 9, 2009 at 7:30 am

    I say, Capital!

     
  3. Naba

    September 3, 2010 at 8:17 pm

    A and B the C of D, good chap!

     
  4. hxa

    September 4, 2010 at 3:23 pm

    Hi,
    This is Toby’s facebook, btw:
    http://www.facebook.com/#!/pages/Toby/111091498940537

    Yes, he’s my dog and I love the pics. LOL

     
    • gentlemanbeggar

      September 4, 2010 at 7:33 pm

      Thanks! Do a search on my blog for “Dandy Dog”; there’s more.

       
  5. castaboca

    September 5, 2010 at 12:28 am

    … and, yes, I shoot this Toby picture. Check this: http://www.flickr.com/photos/castaboca/3563636610/in/set-72157623310911134/
    Thanks for making Toby famous and eventually you can mention the source. Hope will share some royalties 🙂

     
    • gentlemanbeggar

      September 5, 2010 at 10:30 pm

      I hope I haven’t offended by appropriating Dandy Dog’s likeness. I’ve just had so much fun dressing him up and putting him in new situations. When the picture was submitted to reddit, I assumed it was in the public domain. If I need to remove the pictures from my site, I understand, but I will be saddened. Thanks for providing so much fun for me and my friends with this photo!

       
      • castaboca

        September 7, 2010 at 11:15 am

        No, you don’t have to remove the picture, I understand that your play have not a comercial purpose, and I like it 🙂

         
  6. Sally

    December 13, 2010 at 9:20 am

    Love what you did with Toby’s picture. It looks like you had sooooo much fun! I especially like him conducting the Boston Pops. He looks very elegant in his little tuxedo. Thanks for the entertainment!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
