RSS

Let’s all go to the lobby…

04 Jan

My wife is a reader.  She has a TBR (“To Be Read” for the unitiated) stack as tall as I am.  Last year, she found a site full of fellow nutjobs “reading enthusiasts” called goodreads.  There she entered some reading challenges.  In 2009 she read 50 some-odd books, and for 2010, she’s challenging herself to read 60.

What does this have to do with me?  Well, I fancy myself a bit of a reader, but I digest a book, and chew on it for months… while I read a great deal more in 2009 than in previous years, I’ll be doing good to break 10 or 15 books in a year.  That’s hardly encouraging.  However, I love, love, love movies.  If this new movement to do away with free over-the-air broadcasts (bad idea!) comes to fruition, I could probably cope by just loading up the massive (~800 and growing) dvd collection.  One day while pondering the possibility of a personal challenge, the following conversation arose:

“Why don’t you challenge yourself to watch a certain number of movies this year?”

“I think I could do that.  How’s 100 movies sound?”

“For you?  Too easy.”

“Okay, 200?”

“Sounds about right!”

And so, I present to you, the 200 movie challenge.  I’m going to try to watch 200 movies, mostly exclusively from my personal collection, though I might have to rent or borrow one or two here and there if it’s something I really want to see but don’t own, yet, throughout the course of the year.  If everything goes according to plan, I’ll try to write up a little line or two about each movie after I’ve watched it and post it here.  If youtube has a trailer, I’ll probably try to put that here, too.

Wish me luck!  Oh, and bring me some junior mints on your way back, please.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 4, 2010 in Movie Challenge

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Let’s all go to the lobby…

  1. Michael Rivers

    January 7, 2010 at 11:43 am

    Good luck! In 2009, I tried 52 new food experiences (restaurants, bakeries, coffee shops, etc. that I had never visited). I blogged about each one. The series became very popular! Good luck with your goal.

     
  2. nothingprofound

    January 7, 2010 at 4:48 pm

    I probably watch that many movies a year, somewhat involuntarily. My wife likes to watch a film every night before bed. Relaxes her. Looking forward to your reviews. Always on the lookout for something different and interesting.

     
  3. anne marie in philly

    March 26, 2010 at 9:30 pm

    I read at least 10 books per year on topics that interest me at the moment. for example, I just finished a bio about molly brown (the unsinkable molly brown). the movie is a myth, I discovered, full of lies.

    hey, michael rivers…I have checked him out! you should too!

     

Leave a Reply

 
