RSS

Stringtown Yarn & Fiber

17 Mar

TWGW and I are on spring break, visiting beautiful, sunny Sallisaw, Oklahoma.  Spending our nights enjoying a comfy “kabin” at the Sallisaw KOA, we decided to venture out into the area and do a little wishing window shopping.  Well, we found a quaint little book store, visited a historic  bordello turned museum, and petted a friendly cat at another bookstore that harkens back to The Neverending Story.  But probably the highlight of my day was a visit to Stringtown Yarn & Fiber, a clean little shop with a veritable rainbow of colours and textures all at reasonable prices.  It’s one thing to look at some of the more exotic fibers online and another thing entirely to hold them in your hand.  The lady working in the shop was friendly, without being pushy, answering my questions and letting me marvel in peace.  Now, I’m a novice knitter and had no idea where to start.  That didn’t really matter, because my budget was too tight to let me walk out of there with any goodies today anyway, but boy was it hard to leave without picking up a pair of needles from their collection.  And some hand dyed alpaca.  And a swift.  And a ball-winder. And…

Follow up:  I went back today… I’m enjoying my new needles and yarn. 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 17, 2010 in better living, holiday

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Stringtown Yarn & Fiber

  1. Dale

    March 18, 2010 at 6:14 am

    You had me at alpaca

     
  2. Elizabeth

    March 18, 2010 at 3:35 pm

    It was nice meeting you guys too 🙂
    I hate going into a store and getting followed around/talked to constantly so I try not to do that to people. Glad you are having a good time on your vacation and that you liked the shop.

     

Leave a Reply

 
