RSS

Review: The Color of Magic

14 Aug

The Color of Magic (Discworld, #1)The Color of Magic by Terry Pratchett
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I finally understand what all the fuss has been about. I’ve long put off reading any Pratchett, because his books were always on the shelf exactly where Mervyn Peake should have been. I’m glad I gave in, and tried this book. Pratchett does a great job of putting a new spin on some of my favorite tropes. The satire kept me chuckling like a simpleton throughout. As I started reading the last 10 pages, I started getting that sinking feeling you get when you suddenly realize that the TV show you’ve just watched for the last 45 minutes is just part 1 of 2, but I found the ending to be very apropos, considering the style of the rest of the book. I guess the one thing this book made me realize most, though, is that my luggage is entirely too boring.

View all my reviews >>

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 14, 2010 in review

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Review: The Color of Magic

  1. frannie84

    August 14, 2010 at 2:11 am

    My dad is completely addicted to the Discworld series and I am pretty sure he’s read all of the books. I did watch the ‘movies’ on Netflix and was actually better than I expected, and although my dad pointed out that Rincewind isn’t supposed to be that old, he actually enjoyed it too. When I’m done reading my other books I may very well come to read Discworld. I do enjoy the Douglas Adams-esque sense of humor!

     
  2. organicbump

    August 24, 2010 at 7:00 am

    I am a massive Discworld fan. I think the best thing about Discworld is that there are so many instalments. I’ve just started reading them all from the beginning (on Sourcery right now) to get me through the rest of my pregnancy.

     

Leave a Reply

 
